Reference: Acts 20:24 NIV

However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.


My Thoughts

Jesus didn’t consider his earthly time anytime else but a mission. He wasn’t consumed with comfort, influence and pleasure. While his purpose was so that our lives would be much better, this isn’t it. Our time on earth is limited and once we accept Christ as Lord it has one purpose to infiltrate the Gospel into every dark corner of the earth. We get so consumed with the vehicle or the platform by which the purpose will be fulfilled because we want this life to be enjoyable. That is one of the greatest weaknesses of the human condition, pleasure. All sin can be traced at its root to self pleasure and satisfaction. Even Jesus had a struggle with it. The easiest thing to do to counter it is accept death but not as the horrible tragedy but as the end of the mission and the transition to your real life, eternity pleasure with God.

