Reference: Ephesians 5:20‭-‬25 NIV

“always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.  Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.  Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.  Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her. “


My Thoughts

How often do I reflect on the things that I have. When my birthday rolls around, I consider what I want, but I can’t say that I’ve looked back on years past and remembered how grateful I am of past gifts. The best gift (outside of my salvation and the Holy Spirit) is my wife. God has given me this extraordinary gift that is beyond measure but it is often too easy to see the responsibility and the accountability and forget the purpose in this gift. Undoubtedly, many of my answers reside in this gift. Likewise, any issues that I have with not understanding how to use my gift has little to do with the gift and should be directed to the Giver. 

Another thing that is important, is to understand what I must do to get the most out of my gift. It is so enlightening when you have something that you think you know everything about, only to find more uses later. It’s like having a new gift! There is some much God wants me to get out of being married and I have yet to scratch the surface, but it is not because of my wife. It is not her responsibility to provide me with all marital understanding. It is God’s responsibility to me, only if I seek to receive it. In order for me to get to the ready state to fully receive my gift, I have to “give up myself for her”. I can’t hold on to me and receive her entirely (sounds like the prerequisite for another gift, right?).

