Reference: Psalm 19:7‭-‬8 NIV

The law of the Lord is perfect, refreshing the soul. The statutes of the Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple. The precepts of the Lord are right, giving joy to the heart. The commands of the Lord are radiant, giving light to the eyes.

My Thoughts

Now as a parent, i have a better understanding of the necessity of discipline in the bigger picture. I don’t love disciplining my children, but I would hate for something bad to happen to them because I didn’t. Discipline has one of my favorite definitions: “systematic training.” 

God wants me to be prepared for whatever the world may throw to distract me from His purpose and the fulfillment which my soul seeks. His discipline is my systematic training. Deliberate, procedural and purposeful instructions, teachings, lessons. When I see the bigger picture that God wants me to see, I will realize that discipline is life-saving, life-changing but more importantly, life-shaping. How I accept and respond to discipline with design the life I lead.

