Reference: Deuteronomy 1:6 NIV

The Lord our God said to us at Horeb, “You have stayed long enough at this mountain.

My Thoughts

I don’t think I truly appreciate the constant changes going on in my life. My body goes through billions of changes every day. Blood, cells, brain, air, nutrients, etc.: These changes are necessary so that I don’t die. It makes no sense getting attached to things that are supposed to change. I love my skin but it dies often and new skin grows in its place.  I don’t mourn the old skin. I don’t save it as a keepsake. I don’t stop the new skin from replacing it. I accept the change. I understand the purpose it serves for my life, and I move on. It seems like that is a no-brainer because it’s a change that’s good for me but what about when God wants me to change? Everything He has planned for me is good so why do I resist? Why do I stubbornly stay in old dead skin, that is not serving its purpose and will make me unnecessarily vulnerable and eventually kill me? Even the simplest changes can save my life, so when God says move, whether it’s two steps, two feet or two thousand miles, I must accept the change as necessary for me to live. Because it is.

