Reference: Isaiah 40:31 (NIV) 

but those who hope in the Lord  will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.


My Thoughts:

This verse lets me know that burnout is a result of un-Godly reliance. Whether it be of self, someone else, or something, if my hope is not rooted in God, my faith will eventually deplete. God must be my energy source as He never depletes. 

It’s like the saying, “Don’t look down”. If my eyes are the window to my soul, it’s important that I fixed (permanent state) them on God. Whatever I focus on, I give it close access and control in my life.  

My problem is that I worry about the How, When, and Where and it causes me to lose focus on God.  When all that should matter to me is the Who and the What because that should lead me back to God. My sinful nature distorts the self-sustaining feature God created in me to where I believe I can take care of everything in my life. Therefore in order to protect myself from myself, my mindset has to be protected at all times, at all cost.

